Google Maps Features
Explainers
What Does Incognito Mode Do in Google Maps?
Google Maps Incognito mode stops Maps activity on that device from being saved to your Google Account in several ways, pauses Timeline updates, and disables some personalized features.
What Is Google Maps Timeline and What Does It Save?
Google Maps Timeline is an opt-in feature that can save visits and routes on signed-in devices when Timeline and device location are enabled.
Quick Answers
Does Google Maps Timeline Work When Location Sharing Is Off?
Google Maps Timeline and Location Sharing are separate features. Timeline can save your own visits and routes when Timeline and device location are enabled even if you are not sharing your location with other people.
Does Google Maps Location Sharing Work When the App Is Closed?
Google Maps Location Sharing is designed to share a device’s location for the duration you choose, but whether updates continue depends on the device’s location permissions and settings.
Does Google Maps Work Without Internet?
Google Maps can provide offline map and driving-navigation functionality if you download the relevant area before losing connectivity, but live features such as real-time traffic are unavailable offline.